Travel News – Philippines extends ban on travellers from 7 countries, including India

Philippines government has extended the ban on inbound travel from seven countries, including India, until June 15 to prevent transmission of the Covid-19 variant — B.1617.

According to CNN, the Philippines government announced on Monday the extension of the ban on travellers coming from India, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates.

Philippines President Rodrigo Duterte approved the extension of the restrictions on travellers from the seven countries upon the recommendation of the national task force against Covid-19, Presidential Spokesperson Harry Roque said.

In a series of announcements from late April to mid-May, the country barred the entry of travellers from India, Nepal, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Oman, and the United Arab Emirates until May 31. This is to prevent the spread of the B.1617 “double mutant” variant of the coronavirus first discovered in India.

Even with this directive, however, the Philippines on May 11 confirmed its…

Read further.

Travel Will Be Bigger Than Ever, Just Different—Great Opportunities For Startups

UAE widens suspension on flights from Pakistan till June 30